The Doctor is IN

Keen Observations on Life … Whether You Need Them or Not

Marky Mark Trumps Steely Dan … on the Morning Commute, Anyway

Leave a comment

My Nissan Altima’s been giving me some lip lately. I call her Miss Gladys, and generally she’s a reliable ol’ gal … but her wheels are getting on my last nerve, and lately she’s been making sort of a metally-squeaky sound. Driving back and forth from the Apex suburbs to the Capital City (like Andy Griffith used to say), Raleigh, at 85 mph is not conducive to “metally-squeaky” anything.

So the mister’s been mixing it up with me lately, alternating cars so that some days I drive Miss Gladys and some days I drive his new Subaru Outback. Sue’s an automatic and not nearly as fun to drive as the zippy 5-speed manual Miss Gladys. Anyway, the four times I’ve driven Sue over the last two weeks have been lots of fun–Sue’s got a great sound system.

Sue’s enjoyed me, too. Normally the mister rolls with Dave Matthews Band or Steely Dan … but I like fun music I can sing to in the morning. Last week, the hit of the day was Kelly Clarkson’s “Since You’ve Been Gone.” My son hates when I sing that one, so I make sure to do it as loudly and as often as I can. Today, Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch serenaded me with “Good Vibrations” … and you know what, I’ve felt them all day long.

Yo, it’s about that time … to break forth the rhythm and the rhyme. I’m getting mine, so get yours … want to see sweat coming out your pores.

Author: Dolly R. Sickles

Writer, mother, wife, adventurer, agent of change, advocate, ally, volunteer, instructor ... I'm never bored. I write contemporary romance and romantic suspense under the name Becky Moore, and children’s literature under the name Dolly Dozier. You can also check me out at MacMillan Publishing’s Heroes & Heartbreakers, where I’m a romance blogger. During the fall and spring, you can find me in the classroom teaching other folks how to follow their dreams or how to fund their community outreach at Wake Technical Community College, and Central Carolina Community College. During the summer and at random times during the year, I'm out adventuring with my family.

Leave a Reply

