The Doctor is IN

Keen Observations on Life … Whether You Need Them or Not

Vetting the process

2 Comments

I haven’t really ever been what you call a “joiner.” Never participated in Girl Scouts. Wasn’t in a sorority in college. I’m not in the PTA.

But when I decided a couple of years ago that I wanted to really pursue writing novels as a career, I put my formidable skills in marketing and PR to work, and began the research. I’d like to write children’s literature. I’d like to write adult mainstream fiction, espionage thrillers and mysteries. And I’d like to write romance. All genres that I enjoy reading, and all genres that I hope to call my own. What I found was that the world of romance has highly educated, well-salaried, voracious readers … and that there’s a strong system of support in place for aspiring and successful authors. So I started there.

I joined the Romance Writers of America national writing guild about five years ago, but have always worked full-time … read that as: I never had time to really pursue my craft. At that same time, I joined my local chapter, Heart of Carolina Romance Writers. In December 2009, I sold my first manuscript to a new Canadian electronic publisher, XOXO Publishing. It published on May 2, 2010. My second manuscript sold on February 14 and published on September 11. Yesterday, I was vetted.

I got my RWA PRO pin, which means that RWA has checked out my contracts, checked out my manuscripts, and stands behind me as a viable author. At conferences I can move to the front of the line for appointments with agents; when I send things to publishers or agents I can list that I’m a PRO.

So in this new chapter in my life as Becky Moore, romance author, it’s so rewarding to say that I’m vetted, I’m viable, and I’m coming! Watch out world, here comes Becky Moore!

Author: Dolly R. Sickles

Writer, mother, wife, adventurer, agent of change, advocate, ally, volunteer, instructor ... I'm never bored. I write contemporary romance and romantic suspense under the name Becky Moore, and children’s literature under the name Dolly Dozier. You can also check me out at MacMillan Publishing’s Heroes & Heartbreakers, where I’m a romance blogger. During the fall and spring, you can find me in the classroom teaching other folks how to follow their dreams or how to fund their community outreach at Wake Technical Community College, and Central Carolina Community College. During the summer and at random times during the year, I'm out adventuring with my family.

2 thoughts on “Vetting the process

  1. Thanks Nancy. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your note! I really needed to hear that. I’m going to try and make the October meeting. It sounds really interesting, and I love any topic that Sabrina covers. Plus, I’m hopeful that I might win a door prize pitch!

  2. Congrats chapter mate and a heart felt welcome to RWA PRO!

Leave a Reply

