The Doctor is IN

Keen Observations on Life … Whether You Need Them or Not

Ramping Up for My Spring To Do

Leave a comment

Me and the boys took our errands on separate paths today, which has given me a great deal of time to ponder the beautiful weather we’re having here in NC today.

In the wake of recent bankruptcy rumors from my beloved Borders Books & Music, I decided I needed to make use of my Christmas gift cards … bounty abound! I’ve got a stack of new books and will have to force patience on myself to not read them all this week. My trip was relatively quick, in terms of hanging out at the bookstore; certainly it was way shorter than school day afternoons, when my son likes to get a chocolate milk and pretzel at Borders, and do his homework there.

When I got home, the Beagle, Magnolia May, and I sat out on the back deck in the chilled air under the clear, blue sky and enjoyed the sounds of the neighborhood around us. The birds were really busy, and a little incensed that their feeders have been empty the last few weeks. Maggie decided she needed to keep a running commentary on everything, too. She had lots to say to the bicyclists, runners, the birds, other dogs, and the occasional car passing us by. But I let her stretch her vocal chords since she isn’t normally allowed such liberties.

Spring Ramp Up To Do

  1. Be patient. Even though it’s 56 degrees today, there’s not a cloud in the sky and I’m sitting on the back deck instead of huddled inside by the fireplace, there’s still a lot of winter left. And the flocks of seagulls in the parking lot at Walmart and Target are bad signs this far inland.
  2. Make a gardening schedule.
  3. Plant the daffodils by Tuesday so they have a chance of blooming this spring.
  4. Get quote for privacy fence in the backyard. Yippee.
  5. Prep area for victory garden. I’d like to have a couple varieties of tomatoes, some cucumbers, maybe asparagus, bell peppers. Be ready for mid-April planting.
  6. Prepare large pot for herb garden. This year’s herbs: basil, thyme, oregano, chives, cilantro. Be ready for mid-April planting.
  7. Prep garden areas for new plants. In the front yard: new dogwood for arch heading to backyard, rosemary next to porch, lavender to line walkway (to keep away mosquitoes), zinnias and globe amaranths for cutting garden.
  8. Build raised planter that’ll live next to the front porch. It’s the new home for hearty rosemary.
  9. Build rail planters for the back deck. Lavendar and geraniums will live in those.
  10. Update mulch. Early June for that.
  11. Red geraniums for the front porch.
Author: Dolly R. Sickles

Writer, mother, wife, adventurer, agent of change, advocate, ally, volunteer, instructor ... I'm never bored. I write contemporary romance and romantic suspense under the name Becky Moore, and children’s literature under the name Dolly Dozier. You can also check me out at MacMillan Publishing’s Heroes & Heartbreakers, where I’m a romance blogger. During the fall and spring, you can find me in the classroom teaching other folks how to follow their dreams or how to fund their community outreach at Wake Technical Community College, and Central Carolina Community College. During the summer and at random times during the year, I'm out adventuring with my family.

Leave a Reply

