The Doctor is IN

Keen Observations on Life … Whether You Need Them or Not

Homemade Pizza

1 Comment

Friday night is date night at my house. And though my husband, my son and I rotate from week to week figuring out what we’re going to do, one thing’s for certain: we have homemade pizza. As a no-dairy person, pizza has never been high on my list of priorities. But when we make it at home, the sky’s the limit. I shared my recipe with friends over the weekend and they reported that the sauce was the key to success.

For the crust:

  • 1 package quick rise yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 Tbsp olive
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 2-1/4 + 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  1. In a large bowl, combine the yeast and the warm water. Mix it with a fork (the water will be sort of cloudy, and I wait about a minute or two to add the rest of the ingredients), then add the water, oil, sugar and salt. Mix all of that in so that it looks sort of like a vinaigrette that won’t hold together. Add the 2-1/4 cups of flour and mix it together; if it seems like you can add the remaining ¼ cup, great; if not, that’s okay. I’m always able to add the full 2-1/2 cups. All of the flour won’t mix in with the fork, so you’ll need to use your hands to squeeze/knead it until all of the flour is held together (and there’s not loose flour in the bowl).
  2. Turn the lump of dough onto a floured surface (I use a large
    cutting board because I can move it around the kitchen if I need to, but your countertop would probably work, too), and let rest for about 10 minutes. Roll into the shape of your pan … I use the jelly roll pan, so I roll it into a vague rectangle, much smaller than the actual pan. Use your basting brush to spread olive oil all around the pan, then transfer the rolled dough. I use my fingers and gently spread it to reach the edges. So far, I haven’t had a crust break yet. Brush the edges with olive oil to make it cook “pretty” and keep
    from drying out.
  3. Add your toppings, and then bake for 15 – 18 minutes, making
    sure your cheese and toppings don’t get too crispy. You may need to adjust your baking time accordingly. For example, plain cheese pizza cooks quickly; garbage pizza takes a little extra time.

For the sauce:
I’m mostly an ‘ish kind of cook, so I make my sauce a little differently each time. The basics are always the same:

  • 1 15-ounce can of diced tomatoes, with liquid (I like the
    fire-roasted tomatoes)
  • 1 small can of tomato paste
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar (white wine is also good in lieu of)
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • ½ tsp dried basil
  • ½ tsp garlic powder
  • ½ tsp onion powder
  • ¼ tsp paprika (if you like it a little smoky)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Mix it all up in the blender; if it’s too thick, add a Tbsp
of water (or more) until it’s the right consistency for you to spread.

~ ~ ~

For the boys I use the Sargento 6 cheese Italian blend, and I use a whole package on their 2/3 of the pizza. Our typical toppings are sweet Italian turkey sausage, chopped spinach, diced sweet bell peppers, sprinkling of crispy onions, asparagus, and mushrooms (mushrooms on the mister’s 1/3). My son’s 1/3 has just cheese, the mister’s 1/3 has cheese and garbage, and mine just has garbage. Leftover diced grilled or baked chicken is also a good topping.

Author: Dolly R. Sickles

Writer, mother, wife, adventurer, agent of change, advocate, ally, volunteer, instructor ... I'm never bored. I write contemporary romance and romantic suspense under the name Becky Moore, and children’s literature under the name Dolly Dozier. You can also check me out at MacMillan Publishing’s Heroes & Heartbreakers, where I’m a romance blogger. During the fall and spring, you can find me in the classroom teaching other folks how to follow their dreams or how to fund their community outreach at Wake Technical Community College, and Central Carolina Community College. During the summer and at random times during the year, I'm out adventuring with my family.

One thought on “Homemade Pizza

  1. Pingback: Guest Post: Author Dolly Dozier talks about cooking with your kids | a carton of milk

Leave a Reply

