The Doctor is IN

Keen Observations on Life … Whether You Need Them or Not

Out with the old …

4 Comments

Sigh …

Seems I can’t pull myself out of the emotional funk I’ve been in the last couple of days. Between our friends having a baby last week and today being the last day of seventh grade, it seems I’ll be weepy for a little while longer.

Since kindergarten we’ve taken a picture on the first day of school, and the last day of school. Today’s photo was hurried and a little blurry because we were racing to catch the bus, and my 13-year-old said, “Mom, I’ll have this stuff on all day.” Duh, I wanted to say … but he was right.

Year-round schools in our county make the shock of the passage of time hit you like ripping off a Band-Aid: just one week off and then he starts eighth grade. So I’m not even going to try being nice over the next few days; I’m going to allow myself to be surly and sappy, a little weepy if I need to be, and overly-motherly. I’ll deal with the shock of having an eighth grader next week.

Author: Dolly R. Sickles

Writer, mother, wife, adventurer, agent of change, advocate, ally, volunteer, instructor ... I'm never bored. I write contemporary romance and romantic suspense under the name Becky Moore, and children’s literature under the name Dolly Dozier. You can also check me out at MacMillan Publishing’s Heroes & Heartbreakers, where I’m a romance blogger. During the fall and spring, you can find me in the classroom teaching other folks how to follow their dreams or how to fund their community outreach at Wake Technical Community College, and Central Carolina Community College. During the summer and at random times during the year, I'm out adventuring with my family.

4 thoughts on “Out with the old …

  1. I feel you, Dolly. Time plays funny games with us. Even when it’s dragging on, it’s racing by. And while we’re busy tending to life, it races by even quicker.

    Hugs, friend.

  2. Greg and Laura have sent me into an emotional tailspin. If I could grab Peyton and hold him tightly enough so that he never gets any older I would. But y’all are at a great age for summer camps, which can be lots of fun.

  3. This year, kindergarten flew by in the wink of an eye. I’m trying not to stop to think about it. We are keeping busy this summer with the mantra of “living in the moment”.

  4. It’s not easy being the Granny either 🙂

Leave a Reply

