The Doctor is IN

Keen Observations on Life … Whether You Need Them or Not

An Enlightened View

4 Comments

Well I never thought I’d say this, but I agree with Dick Cheney.

I had to stop for a second and look behind me to make sure my karma wasn’t going to zap me in the ass. But it’s true: according to the Huffington Post, he made a righteous statement on Tuesday’s episode of The View.

“I think freedom means freedom for everybody,” said the former vice president, “and you ought to have the right to make whatever choice you want to make with respect to your own personal situation.”

At a time when the GOP touts a steady stream of less government on the one hand, while forcing its morals and stifling personal freedoms with the other, Cheney’s support of gay marriage is a sigh of relief (albeit a little disorienting).

I think it also goes to show you that experience and understanding encourages and enables tolerance and acceptance. His daughter is a lesbian, and is happily raising two children with her partner. The Cheney’s know the world hasn’t come to an end. Hellfire and brimstone are not pelting the world. Instead, they know that their daughter and her family are happy and healthy, and they have two wonderful grandchildren. Isn’t that every parent’s dream?

And go, Lynne Cheney, for saying: “Whatever Mary and Heather decide to do is up to Mary and Heather.”

But here’s a reality check, Mrs. Cheney: no, whatever Mary and Heather decide to do is not up to Mary and Heather. Your political party is doing its best to keep same-sex marriage from being a possibility for a huge population in our country. But by voicing your support, hopefully your kindred spirits will get the picture: get out of our homes and stop attacking the personal freedom of Americans.

PS. I’m disappointed to note that the NC General Assembly voted to make discrimination part of the NC Constitution, to add an amendment “to provide that marriage between one man and one woman is the only domestic legal union that shall be valid or recognized in this State.” I vote in every election, as my mother would say ‘from the dog catcher to the mayor.’ And I’ll be at the polls in May 2012 to vote NO on Amendment One (SB 514). Hope you will, too.

Author: Dolly R. Sickles

Writer, mother, wife, adventurer, agent of change, advocate, ally, volunteer, instructor ... I'm never bored. I write contemporary romance and romantic suspense under the name Becky Moore, and children’s literature under the name Dolly Dozier. You can also check me out at MacMillan Publishing’s Heroes & Heartbreakers, where I’m a romance blogger. During the fall and spring, you can find me in the classroom teaching other folks how to follow their dreams or how to fund their community outreach at Wake Technical Community College, and Central Carolina Community College. During the summer and at random times during the year, I'm out adventuring with my family.

4 thoughts on “An Enlightened View

  1. As usual, you’re right Michael. You forgot to mention that he’s a gun-toting hate-mongering so-and-so. The mini me loves to point out that Dick’ll shoot you everytime, and force you to take the blame. But I was glad to see that he spoke in favor of same-sex marriage. It’s an anomoly in an otherwise unsavory dude, but there you have it.

  2. this in no way ameliorates the fact that cheney is a hate-mongering war criminal who deserves to spend the rest of his days in a turkish prison. his views on any one issue, no matter how humane and reasonable, are buried beneath a layer of evil so deep and foul science has yet to develop the technology to explore it. that’s “in my opinion,” of course.

  3. Right on, Rita. But you know, at the end of the day, for some reason he DOES support it and that’s what I take away from this scenario. If someone as cloistered as Dick Cheney can learn about a situation as combustible as same sex marriage, alter his views and speak out publicly in support of it, then there’s hope for other politicians and other causes. Thanks for commenting.

  4. Absolutely, I’ll be right there with you on voting day! I do think the only reason the Cheney’s support this particular cause is because of their daughter. How about supporting a cause just because it’s the right thing to do?

Leave a Reply

