The Doctor is IN

Keen Observations on Life … Whether You Need Them or Not

Blixxkrieged

1 Comment

Holy cow, I realized last night that once again, I’m one step away from greatness.

In 2008, while I was a freelance writer with WRAL.com, I had the opportunity to interview a mighty tough contender–my first professional wrestler, in fact–even if he was only about three feet tall. If you recognize his signature move in my title, the you know I’m talking about Blixx.

Blixx is one of the micro-wrestlers on TruTV’s new show, Hulk Hogan’s Micro-Championship Wrestling. And he’s awesome. Don’t let the lack of height fool you … rather, take a look at that black lipstick, tattoos, stretchy wrastlin’ pants, and long locks: he’s badass. Here’s the WRAL interview. That’s his dad, by the way, doing the ‘El Kabong’ on him, not some strange preacher-dude wailing on him. See his championship belt?

I will tell you, however, that the day I interviewed Blixx, I nearly had a wreck turning into the church parking lot where we did the deed–he was sitting on a bench outside smoking a cigarette. And he looked like a little boy smoking out there, in the church yard. I had a very guilty moment of hysterical laughing. But even better than the shock of smoking was the details of the day: he was hanging out with the youth group at his father’s church before going to a wrestling match at a strip joint. As my managing editor said at the time, “He’s getting his church on before he gets his freak on.” One of the funniest sentiments ever voiced.

Indeed he was.

So good luck, Blixx. Hopefully you’re still in the running for whatever winning title you’ll receive by participating with Hulk Hogan. If nothing else, perhaps you’ll get an insider’s look at how to maintain that California boy tan and natural hair color. Yikes.

Author: Dolly R. Sickles

Writer, mother, wife, adventurer, agent of change, advocate, ally, volunteer, instructor ... I'm never bored. I write contemporary romance and romantic suspense under the name Becky Moore, and children’s literature under the name Dolly Dozier. You can also check me out at MacMillan Publishing’s Heroes & Heartbreakers, where I’m a romance blogger. During the fall and spring, you can find me in the classroom teaching other folks how to follow their dreams or how to fund their community outreach at Wake Technical Community College, and Central Carolina Community College. During the summer and at random times during the year, I'm out adventuring with my family.

One thought on “Blixxkrieged

  1. I remember reading that original interview. Very interesting guy.

Leave a Reply

