The Doctor is IN

Keen Observations on Life … Whether You Need Them or Not

Show Some Cougar Pride: Become an Apex High School Cougar Club Sponsor Today

Leave a comment

FAQ_image (Large)cougar_club_logo_132x130During my son’s first year in high school, I decided to get involved however I could. For our family, that meant joining the Advisory Board for the Academy of Information Technology (AOIT) and volunteering to find sponsors for the Cougar Club, Apex High School’s athletic support club (we’ve got a sprinter).

I’ve spent years of my professional career working in non-profit, raising funds and awareness for issues near and dear to my heart: supporting my fellow North Carolinians living with HIV/AIDS, who often suffer from homelessness and addiction. The arts. Reproductive Rights. Women’s rights. Voter’s rights. LGBT rights. Humanities and social sciences. So it never occurred to me to donate any time or money to athletics. When I give money to my alumni association at NCSU each year, I give it where I want it to count the most: CHASS. Those athletics programs have money coming out the wazoo. Right?

In North Carolina high school athletics, that is NOT correct. It may come as a surprise to learn that the Apex High School athletic program receives, in total from Wake County Public School System, $850. The majority of the balance of its athletic budget—$160,000—is made up of Corporate and Community Sponsors, donations, and concession sales, all managed through the Apex Cougar Club. That $850, plus whatever the Cougar Club raises, supports nearly 1,000 student athletes at Apex High School.

According to the WCPSS Web site: “Beginning with the 2001-02 school year through the spring sports season of 2013, WCPSS schools have won 124 state championships (61 women, 63 men). Coe said WCPSS had 16,292 student athletes participate in high school athletics this year.” Student athletes work hard to maintain a fair balance of athletics and academics. These young adults tend to be healthier, more involved in their school life, and grow up to be more active adults.

So I’m casting my net as far as I can reach in the hopes that I may catch some donors interested in sponsoring the Apex High School Cougar Club. Prices are affordable, and range from $200 – $2,000 for 10 months of academic year advertising! Are you more interested in trading in-kind things, like computers for statistics, sporting goods, meals for visiting coaches, etc.? They’ll take it! There are tons of opportunities to support the dozens of organized sports that will occur during the 2013-14 academic school year. Cougar Club sponsor dollars went really far last year. The mobile app used was used an average of 60 times a day, for a total of 15,854 page views. Actually, the mobile app was used an average of 170 times each Friday during the fall football season. Each sponsor ad was viewed 3,700 times, and the sponsor splash ads were viewed 13,321 times. Broken down, 1,102 unique users on iPhones, iPads and Android devices got your daily message. It’s cheaper per day/week/month than running print, radio or online ads through major media outlets … and that’s great news!

Donations are tax-deductible, they’re helpful for our student athletes, and they’re good for your karma. Think of the number of Apex High School students and their families who would be thrilled to see the support of your local business at the hundreds of sporting events that will occur during the 2013-14 academic school year. Check out the FAQ, and let me know if you’d like to become a sponsor. Payment can be made in the form of a check that you can mail in, or through PayPal. Quick and easy. Low carbon footprint, high marketing output.

You can leave a comment below, or you can contact me through my volunteer e-mail address: dolly [dot] sickles [at] apex cougar club [dot] org. Of course, no spaces. 🙂

DOWNLOAD the complete Apex Cougar Club Patron FAQ, with sponsor levels, here.

Spread the word. Thanks!

Author: Dolly R. Sickles

Writer, mother, wife, adventurer, agent of change, advocate, ally, volunteer, instructor ... I'm never bored. I write contemporary romance and romantic suspense under the name Becky Moore, and children’s literature under the name Dolly Dozier. You can also check me out at MacMillan Publishing’s Heroes & Heartbreakers, where I’m a romance blogger. During the fall and spring, you can find me in the classroom teaching other folks how to follow their dreams or how to fund their community outreach at Wake Technical Community College, and Central Carolina Community College. During the summer and at random times during the year, I'm out adventuring with my family.

Leave a Reply

