The Doctor is IN

Keen Observations on Life … Whether You Need Them or Not

Happy Father’s Day

3 Comments

1999As a child, Father’s Day was another day to thank my mother for the dual roles she filled in my life. But for the last sixteen, my husband has restored my faith in the Y chromosome by being the wonderful father he is to our son. He’s making waffles for us this morning, which we excitedly await.

He’s got a theory. On Mother’s Day, the dads take their kids for the day so the moms can have a break. And those same families send the kids with their dads on Father’s Day so they can spend time with their kids. We think it’s a plot from the Mommy’s Morning Out Union.

We’ll likely go for a hike or a bike ride later in the day, then enjoy a delicious meal on the back deck … together, because that’s what the Three Adventurers do. Together.

I hope you’re having a wonderful Father’s Day with whomever fills that role for you.

 

Author: Dolly R. Sickles

Writer, mother, wife, adventurer, agent of change, advocate, ally, volunteer, instructor ... I'm never bored. I write contemporary romance and romantic suspense under the name Becky Moore, and children’s literature under the name Dolly Dozier. You can also check me out at MacMillan Publishing’s Heroes & Heartbreakers, where I’m a romance blogger. During the fall and spring, you can find me in the classroom teaching other folks how to follow their dreams or how to fund their community outreach at Wake Technical Community College, and Central Carolina Community College. During the summer and at random times during the year, I'm out adventuring with my family.

3 thoughts on “Happy Father’s Day

  1. My heart swells with love as I read this newest post. Happiness for the loving child who turned into such a wonderful woman. Happiness that the wonderful woman found such a perfect man to “Adventure” with and who were both fortunate enough to have the privilege of loving and raising such a fantastic son. I am eternally grateful to be part of such a family.

Leave a Reply

